Shaw and Hunnewell was formed in about 1883, a partnership of George Russell Shaw and Henry Sargent Hunnewell. George Shaw previously had been in partnership with his brother, Robert Gould Shaw, in the firm of Shaw and Shaw, from which Robert retired in about 1882.
Shaw and Hunnewell dissolved in 1902, when both partners retired from practice.
In the early 1880s, Shaw and Hunnewell designed the Wellesley Town Hall and Library, which Douglass Shand-Tucci (in Built in Boston) calls “vividly picturesque” (the Town of Wellesley took its name to honor Henry Hunnewell’s father, Horatio Hollis Hunnewell, who had built an estate on Lake Waban and named it Wellesley in honor of his wife’s family; previously, the town was going to be called Oakland).
Other work by Shaw and Hunnewell included the Watertown Free Library (1884), the Free Hospital for Women in Brookline (1894-1895), the Boston Medical Library at 8 Fenway (1899-1900), and the Jefferson Physical Laboratory (1884) and Pierce Hall (1900) at Harvard.
Back Bay Work