Samuel W. Mead was born on July 19, 1863, in Winchester, the son of Samuel Mead and his wife, Ellen M. Richardson.
He married on November 1, 1887, in Dedham, to Marion Copeland (b. 1860-1867 in Roxbury), daughter of Franklin Copeland and his wife, Marion (LNU).
Samuel Mead was an architect in the firm of Cabot and Chandler. In 1888, when Francis Chandler withdrew from the partnership to become head of the MIT School of Architecture, Edward Cabot took Mead and Arthur G. Everett, also a member of the staff, as partners, forming Cabot, Everett, and Mead.
Cabot retired the same year, but the firm remained Cabot, Everett, and Mead until his death in 1901, when it became Everett and Mead.
Walter Kilham (in Boston After Bulfinch) notes that the firm designed “numerous country houses in the rambling and picturesque style of the period.” It also designed various public buildings, including the hospital of Johns Hopkins University (1889) in Baltimore and Arlington Public Library (1892).
Samuel Mead lived in Weston and designed a number of homes and public buildings in that community and the surrounding areas.
Back Bay Work
|1892||480 Beacon [Cabot, Everett, and Mead]|