Cabot and Chandler was formed in 1875, a partnership of Edward Clarke Cabot and Francis Ward Chandler.
In his Houses of Boston’s Back Bay, Bainbridge Bunting describes Cabot and Chandler as “the Back Bay’s most competent designers in the Queen Anne tradition.” Walter Kilham (in Boston After Bulfinch) indicates that Cabot and Chandler built “numerous country houses in the rambling and picturesque style of the period.”
In 1888, Chandler became head of the MIT School of Architecture. Two members of the firm, Arthur G. Everett and Samuel W. Mead, became partners and the firm became Cabot, Everett, and Mead. Cabot retired the same year
Back Bay Work
|1884||16 Fairfield (Demolished)|